Laurie Lawlor:  About the Author

2010 Prairie State Award for Excellence in Writing for Children

Laurie Lawlor on the

Simon & Schuster Publishing Site.

Laurie Lawlor on the

Holiday House Publishers Site.

Laurie Lawlor received the 2010 Prairie State Award for Excellence in Writing for Children.  The award ceremony was held March 18, 2010 in Springfield, Illinois.

Laurie Lawlor Signing Books

The Prairie State Award recognizes an Illinois Children's/young adult author whose body of work demonstrates excellence, engenders a love of literature, and embraces an important part of the mission of the Illinois Reading Council to promote lifelong literacy.  The award is given by the Illinois Reading Council an affiliate of the International Reading Association.

Laurie Lawlor follows such notables as Jim Aylesworth in 2009, Sally Walker in 2008, Ilene Cooper in 2007, Candace Fleming in 2006, and Jamie Gilson in 2005 who have been honored with this award in previous years.

Laurie Lawlor
2010 Prairie State Award Recipient

lawlor_3-10A lawlor_3-10b lawlor_3-10d
lawlor lawlor_3-10 lawlor_award

megan and baby

The Prairie State Award was presented on March 18, 2009, Thursday evening during the Illinois Reading Council's 2010 convention in Springfield, Illinois.  Abraham Lincoln Ballroom - 6:00 - 8:00 p.m.

Following the award banquet --
Laurie was a featured author at the Anderson's Bookshops' Author Reading -
An autograph session followed in the Hilton Grand Ballroom.

Look for more information as it is available from the Illinois Reading Council.